authoritative, wise, and highly influential pronouncements

Giggs wins £20 on scratchcard as winning run continues

In Sport on December 15, 2009 at 09:26

Manchester United midfielder Ryan Giggs has revealed that his incredible winning run which has seen him pick up prize after prize during 2009 continued yesterday after he won £20 on a National Lottery ‘Merry Millions’ scratchcard.

Giggs, 36, has enjoyed a stellar year, which caps more than 20 years playing football the highest level. During the calendar year he has managed to win the Premier League, Carling Cup, PFA Player of the Year as well as the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year.

The ultimate prize

“To be fair, this scratchcard win is the best prize of them all,” a jubilant Giggs told reporters this morning. “I’d never even done one before, but needed to pick some milk up on my way home from training when I just saw it there next to the till at the corner shop. Well, with the way my luck’s been running, I thought it would be rude not to get one. The rest is history.”

Asked if there had been any other examples of Giggs’ extraordinary capacity to win absolutely everything in sight, the United man confirmed that he had already turned down two British Comedy Awards and a BAFTA on the basis that he “hadn’t actually done anything to merit either award” – reopening the debate as to the validity of his Footballer of the Year award in the process.

Manchester United team-mate Rio Ferdinand insists that Giggs deserves every award he recieves. “Ryan’s a great talent, and has worked for everything he achieved, including this scratchcard, which will mean the world to him.

“The lads have been winding him up in training by saying they voted for him in the X Factor final on Sunday. In all seriousness, all the others are just lucky Giggsy hasn’t entered it yet – he’d win it hands down.”

Asked how he’d spend his £20 winnings, Giggs was in defiant mood. “Spend it? Are you joking? Do you think I melted down all of my medals and sold them? Do you think I put my 1999 Goal of the Season Award on e-bay? No, this will take pride of place alongside all of my other trophies.”

Giggs will place the crisp £20 note in a special, fortified trophy cabinet containing medals from his glittering career, including his 64 caps for Wales, 11 Premier League titles, 4 FA Cups, 3 League Cups, and 2 European Cups.

“Every time I look at that glistening £20, it just makes me so emotional,” said Giggs. “I always think ‘what if I hadn’t needed any milk?’ Thankfully I did, and in many ways it’s made me the man I am today.”

Leave a Reply

